The center of Theoretical Physics (CPHT) at Ecole Polytechnique gathers research scientists working in diverse domains of fundamental and applied Physics. The overall coherence is assured by the corpus of common, transposable, mathematical and numerical methods.

CPHT is on the campus of Ecole Polytechnique, buildings 5 and 6. The reception offices are located in "building 6" , offices 06.1046 and 06.1045.

How to visit us 

The CPHT is formally divided into six groups:


Ecole Polytechnique 
91128 Palaiseau cedex 

Secretary phone number : 01 69 33 42 01 (from abroad: +33 169 334 201)
Fax number : 01 69 33 49 49 (from abroad: +33 169 334 201)
Write an email to someone at CPHT :  :


Antoine Georges, Professeur au Collège de France et chercheur au Centre de Physique Théorique de l'Ecole Polytechnique a reçu une bourse Synergie par le Conseil Européen de la Recherche en 2012.

Le projet "Frontiers in Quantum Materials Control" (QMAC) réunit Andrea Cavalleri (Institut Max Planck, Hamburg), Antoine Georges (CPHT-Ecole Polytechnique et Collège de France) Dieter Jaksch (Université d'Oxford) et Jean-Marc Triscone (Université de Genève).




Silke Biermann, Professeur chargée de cours et chercheuse au Centre de Physique Théorique à l’École polytechnique, a reçu une bourse d’excellence européenne du Conseil Européen de la Recherche. Elle a été primée dans la catégorie Consolidator Grant (ERC 2013), pour ses travaux de recherche sur les systèmes à fortes corrélations électroniques.

Nom du projet : ERC CORRELMAT "Predictive electronic structure calculations for materials with strong electronic correlations: long-range Coulomb interactions and many-body screening"



  • Professor at Columbia University
  • "2016 Visiting Professor" in the framework of the Columbia - Ecole Polytechnique - Alliance program


    Address CPHT, Ecole Polytechnique, 91128 Palaiseau cedex, France
    Phone number +33-(0)1 69 33 42 92
    Fax number +33-(0)1 69 33 49 49
    Office "Aile zéro", office 1014


Boris Altshuler, professor at Columbia University, is visiting Ecole Polytechnique for a  period of 6 months, starting end of january 2016. He has been appointed Visiting Professor  in the framework of the Columbia - Ecole Polytechnique - Alliance program,

Professor Altshuler has made pioneering contributions to theoretical condensed matter physics, especially on Anderson localisation, including localisation and interactions. In recent years, he initiated the study of "Many Body Localisation", which is currently a very active field of research.
For more details, see e.g.:

During his visit to France, Boris Altshuler will share his time between the CPHT and IOGS on the Ecole Polytechnique campus, and the Institut de Physique du College de France. In April 2016, he will deliver a series of lectures on Anderson localisation and Many-Body Localisation, which will take place on the Ecole Polytechnique campus. 

Other link: Physics Department