The center for Theoretical Physics (CPHT) at Ecole Polytechnique gathers research scientists working in diverse domains of fundamental and applied Physics. The overall coherence is assured by the corpus of common, transposable, mathematical and numerical methods.
CPHT is a joint research unit of CNRS and Ecole Polytechnique, and has a partnership with the Collège de France. His director is Jean-René Chazottes, Senior Researcher at CNRS.
CPHT is on the campus of Ecole Polytechnique, buildings 5 and 6. The reception offices are located in building 6 , offices 06.1046 and 06.1045.

Postal Address :
Ecole Polytechnique 
91128 Palaiseau cedex 

Secretary phone number : 01 69 33 42 01 (from abroad: +33 169 334 201)

Write an email to someone at CPHT :  :



The 4th CPHT Young Researchers Seminar will be held on May 6, 2022 at 3:00 p.m. in the Louis Michel Conference Room with two presentations given by :

Mohamed Rekhis : Shear Alfvén Waves in toroidally confined plasmas

Erik Linnér : Competing collective fluctuations in interacting electron systems

The seminar will be followed by a high tea.



Jean-Pierre Fest : a scientific symposium dedicated to Jean-Pierre Derendinger on the occasion of his 67th birthday

19 and 20 april 2022, Ecole normale supérieure

organized by Ignatios Antoniadis, Adel Bilal, Marios Petropoulos

More information : here



Second announcement: registration for "Quantum gravity, random geometry and holography" From January 9th to February 17th, 2023, at the Institut Henri Poincaré (Paris)

Important: the deadline for financial support requests is June 15th, 2022

Program : The thematic six-weeks program will include two workshops (weeks 2 and 5), introductory lectures (weeks 1 and 4), two general public lectures (to be announced), and more (informal gatherings and seminars).

Organizing committee : John Barrett (University of Nottingham), Dario Benedetti (CNRS, École Polytechnique), Joseph Ben Geloun (Université Sorbonne Paris Nord), Renate Loll (Radboud University Nijmegen)

More information : here



The 3rd CPHT Young Researchers Seminar will be held on March 31, 2022 at 3:00 p.m. in the Louis Michel Conference Room with two presentations given by :

Filippo Sottovia : Hydrodynamic description of Landau instabilities in superfluids

Jan Schneider : Entanglement spectrum and quantum phase diagram of the long-range XXZ chain via tensor network techniques

The seminar will be followed by a high tea.


Séminaires des Cordes
le mercredi 23 mars 2022
Salle de conférence Louis Michel, CPHT, Ecole Polytechnique

11h - 11h45
Luca Ciambelli
Universal symmetries of gravity

Abstract: I will derive the universal group of symmetries stemming from diffeomorphisms on a codimension-2 surface S at finite distance. I will then compute Noether charges in Einstein gravity and prove that, treating the embedding fields carefully, their algebra is a faithful representation of the aforementioned group of symmetries. This is then shown to be canonically realized on a suitably enlarged covariant field space, where one treats the embedding fields as part of the field space. This solves an old question in gravity, which is to find a field space where all gravitational charges are canonical, i.e. integrable, and thus represented through Poisson brackets.

12h - 12h45
Romain Ruzziconi
A Carrollian Perspective on Celestial Holography

Abstract: I will present a holographic description of gravity in 4d asymptotically flat spacetime in terms of a 3d sourced conformal Carrollian field theory. The external sources encode the leaks of gravitational radiation at null infinity. The Ward identities of this theory are shown to reproduce those of the 2d celestial CFT after relating Carrollian to celestial operators. This suggests a new set of interplays between gravity in asymptotically flat spacetime, sourced conformal Carrollian field theory and celestial CFT. 



Aspects of gravity, mathematics and physics
21-22 mars 2022 Palaiseau (France)

Amphithéâtre Becquerel, École Polytechnique

Cette conférence est organisée par le Centre de Mathématiques Laurent Schwartz et le Centre de Physique Théorique de Polytechnique.


Nicolas Besset (Paris Saclay) Guillaume Bossard (Polytechnique)
Eleonora Di Nezza (Polytechnique)
Grigorios Fournodavlos (Université de Crète et Université de Princeton)
Jose Luis Jaramillo (Université de Bourgogne Franche-Comté)
Leonhard Kehrberger (Université de Cambridge)
Blagoje Oblak (Polytechnique et Sorbonne Université)
Harvey Reall (Université de Cambridge)
Danièle Steer (Université de Paris)
Martin Taylor (Imperial College)
Michal Wrochna (Université de Cergy)
Zoe Wyatt (King's College London)


Dietrich Häfner (UGA), Cécile Huneau (Polytechnique), Karim Noui (Paris Saclay), Marios Petropoulos (Polytechnique)

Inscription obligatoire ici

Lien vers l'affiche ici